Essay

Science

Irkutsk has been a centre of scientific thought in East Siberia throughout its history.

The origin of the Siberian science refers to the XVIII century and it was connected with the study of the Siberian territory. In 1764 a native of Finland, M.V.Lomonosov’s apprentice, Eric Laxman – a talented mineralogist, chemist, botanic left for Siberia to study it. He was engaged in naturalistic researches in the Nerchinsk mountain district, then lived not far from Irkutsk and frequently visited the city. The opening of the Glauber’s salt used for glass manufacture belongs to E. Laxman. He founded the Taltzy glass factory. Laxman discovered some reserves of minerals in Pribaikalye, then on the Lena and Vilyui rivers. He collected valuable botanical and mineralogist collections.

In Irkutsk the post of the director bank assignation office was taken by a graduate of Moscow and Uspala (Sweden) universities and a scientific naturalist А.М.Karamyshev for some time. Being engaged in a study of Siberian nature and, in general, natural sciences, Karamyshev was a member - correspondent of an Academy of Sciences, member of Free - economic society and member - correspondent of the Swedish academy.

In Irkutsk a geographer А.I.Losev studied and worked. His results of the Eastern Siberian study were published in 1812-1818: "The Angara thresholds", "About the sea Baikal", "Agriculture in the Irkutsk region" and etc.

Eastern-Siberian department of Russian geographical Society. From S.Medvedev's book "Irkutsk on post-cards"

The important event for the development of the Siberian science became the opening of Irkutsk Siberian (later Eastern-Siberian) department of the Russian geographical society in 1851 (ESRGS) - first scientific establishment in Eastern Siberia. The Siberian administration tried to transform it into the branch of general - governor office the on "scientific part ", but the participation in work of a community of advanced intelligentsia and political exiled resulted that this office began to lose state trusteeship. One of the first ESRGS chiefs was a director of Irkutsk grammar school S.S.Schukin. During his 50 years he studied the Siberian nature, collected rich grass collection, constantly conducted meteorological supervision. S.S.Schukin published the tables of the meteorological supervision and a number of works on study of Eastern Siberian nature. He was considered to be one of the deep connoisseurs of Siberian fauna, flora, mineralogy and zoology.

There were different sections - mathematical geography, physical geography and statistics in the scientific society. In addition there were researches on history, archeology, linguistics, agriculture and other branches of knowledge.

The large contribution to the Siberian history and ethnography study was done by a known Russian historian, ethnographer, publicist A.P.Schapov, exiled in Irkutsk in 1864. Being in Irkutsk, Schapov studied the Eastern Siberian history, economy and life of the population, worked in the ESRGS, participated in scientific expedition to study the Turukhansk territory. Schapov had valuable works about the Siberian history and ethnography: "The Siberian society up to Speranskii", "Historical-geographical and ethnographic notes about the Siberian population", "The Buryat nomadic territory-patrimonial community" and etc. A.P. Schapov died in 1876 in Irkutsk. The monument on the funds of the ESRGS was put on his tomb. There was an inscription "From the motherland to the writer" there.

A.Chekanovskii I.Cherskii
A.Potanina G.Potanin

In the 1860s an important meaning in the work of the Department became study of the Eastern Siberian depths. Chekanovskii and Cherskii started these studies. In Irkutsk the school of the Eastern Siberian geologists was gradually opened. The well-known scientists I.A.Lopatin, P.A.Kropotkin, V.A.Obruchev and others joined this school.

In the 1870-80s new workers from the political exiled and representatives of the Siberian intelligentsia joined the ESRGS. The department expanded its scientific researches, organized new expeditions with the purpose to study the Minusinsk territory agriculture, the Vitim gold-bearing of the areas, the Olkhon island, separate areas of the Yenisei River. Especially focus was made on the study of Buryatiya. A.P.Schapov, D.A.Klemenz, A.V. and G.N.Potanins worked in the area of Buryat studies. The members of the ESRGS were the researchers: Dorji Banzarov, M.Hangalov, G.Gomboev, P.Batorov and others.

In the first scientific Eastern Siberian establishment there were famous scientists brought up- a zoologist I.S.Polyakov, geologist I.D.Cherskii, archeologist N.I Vitimskii.

The work of the ESRGS contributed to the study of geography, nature and natural resources, history, economy and life of the population of Eastern Siberia.

M.Kozhov

Besides ESRGS, in the 1920s the research work was done by Irkutsk the state university, opened in 1918, and the Geological committee and meteorological observatory. At the university there were first research institutes: biological-geographical and anatomical. The first director of the biological-geographical Research Institute at Irkutsk State University was a professor М.М.Kozhov, heading it for 30 years.

The origin of the academic science in Irkutsk was connected with the Baikal study. In 1919г. the Baikal biological station of the Academy of Science of the USSR, later transferred to the Irkutsk university, was organized in a village Bolshie Koty. In 1928 the Baikal Limnological station was opened in Listvenichnaya village. On its basis in 1961 the Limnological institute of the Siberian Department of the USSR Academy of Science was opened. The complex scientific expeditions were organized, headed by such outstanding scientists, as F.Y.Livinson-Lessing, А.А.Grigoryev, V.N.Sukachyov, А.Е.Fersman, who studied natural resources of the Siberian territory.

 Irkutsk Scientific Center Investigations in the Institute of the Earth's Crust Solar Coronograph in Sayany (Institute of solar and earth's physics)

In 1949 in Irkutsk the Eastern-Siberian branch of the Academy of Sciences USSR was founded. Later in 1957 after the opening of the Siberian branch of the USSR Academy Sciences this branch was included in this structure. In 1988 the branch and the Irkutsk association of scientific institutes received a status of Irkutsk scientific centre (ISC) of Siberian Department of the USSR Academy of Science.

Now the ISC structure includes 9 research institutes of the Siberian Department, the Baikal museum, Irkutsk branch of Institute of laser physics of Russian Academy of Science, designers-institute of technology of electrical ray technologies of the Russian Academy, department of the regional economic and social problems at the Presidium of the ISC of the SD RAS. The center has the advanced research base, which provides complex study of problems within the framework of sciences about the Earth, and also realization of versatile fundamental and applied researches in the field of electrical power, calculus mathematics, solar-terrestrial physics, geochemistry, geography, chemistry, physiology and biochemistry of plants and branches of knowledge.

The oldest academic institute of Irkutsk is the earth’s crust institute, organized in 1949 under a name Institute of Geology. In its different years it was headed by the member –correspondents of the Academy of Science of the USSR N.A.Florenzov, М.М.Odinzov, academician N.A.Logachyov. The institute is a leading scientific establishment of the country on the problems of continental reef genesis. The scientists developed a complex geological-geophysical model of the Baikal reef zone development and its adjacent territories, showing a deep structure of East Siberia and Mongolia. The Institute is a recognized center on problems of neotectonics, geomorphology and seismology. The International active tectonic study centre and natural disasters works at the Institute.

In 1960 on the basis of magnet-meteorological observatory, founded in 1886, the institute of solar-terrestrial physics of the SD of the RAS was opened. The Institute researches nature and dynamics of solar magnetic fields, the solar flares and other formations on the Sun. The network of observations, created by institute in Irkutsk area, Buryatiya and Krasnoyarsk territory, allows to carry out complex researches of physical processes and phenomena in the system Sun - Earth.

Investigations of Baikal with the help of submarine apparatus "Piesces"

In 1961 the Baikal Limnological the station was reorganized into the Limnological institute of the SD of RAS; its first director was an academician G.I.Galazii. Now the Institute is main organization of the Russian academy of sciences on the lake Baikal problems. The scientists of the Institute research ecosystem condition of Baikal in the present and past, evolution of the endemic fauna and flora of the lake in a context of geological events and others. In 1990 on the basis of the Institute the Baikal international centre of ecological researches was created. On the basis of the Baikal exposition of the Institute in 1993 the unique Baikal museum was opened.

In 1987 in Irkutsk the Eastern-Siberian branch of the Siberian branch of Russian Academy of Medical Science was opened to solve complex regional problems and coordinate all researches, connected with preservation and strengthening of the Siberian population health. Now the branch unites about 10 research institutes, among them are the Research Institutes of traumatology and orthopedics, Research anti-plaque Institute of Siberia and Far East, epidemiology Institute.

The contribution to the development of science in Siberia, made by scientific Universities, is significant. A valuable place among scientific establishments of the city is taken by the Research Institute (RI) of the applied physics and the RI of biology at Irkutsk State university. Now the RI of biology headed by the professor O.M.Kozhova - successor of a scientific dynasty of the Kozhovs, carries out researches on the lake Baikal study and in the field of experimental and applied microbiology. The large scientific achievements of the Research Institute of applied physics in the field of elementary particles, neutron astrophysics have the large influence on development of separate sections of physics.

 
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru

Иркутск

Наука

Иркутск издавна являлся центром научной мысли в Восточной Сибири.

Зарождение сибирской науки относится еще к XVIII столетию и связано оно с изучением сибирского края. В 1764 году отправился в Сибирь для изучения этого края уроженец Финляндии, ученик М.В.Ломоносова, Эрик Лаксман – талантливый минеролог, химик, ботаник. Он занимался натуралистическими исследованиями в Нерчинском горном округе, затем жил близ Иркутска и часто бывал в городе. Э.Лаксману принадлежит открытие употребления глауберовой соли для производства стекла, он основал Тальцинский стеклоделательный завод. Лаксманом было открыто несколько месторождений минералов в Прибайкалье, затем по Лене и Вилюю. Он составил ценные ботанические и минералогические коллекции.

В Иркутске в должности директора банковской ассигнационной конторы некоторое время работал ученый натуралист, выпускник Московского и Успальского (Швеция) университетов, А.М.Карамышев. Занимаясь изучением природы Сибири и вообще естественными науками, Карамышев состоял членом-корреспондентом Академии наук, членом Вольно-экономического общества и членом-корреспондентом Шведской академии.

В Иркутске учился и работал известный географ А.И.Лосев. Результаты своих изучений Восточной Сибири он изложил в статьях, опубликованных в 1812-1818 гг.: "Ангарские пороги", "О море Байкале", "Земледелие в Иркутской губернии" и др.

Восточно-Сибирский отдел Русского Географического общества. Иллюстрация из книги С.Медведева "Иркутск на почтовых открытках"

Важным событием для развития сибирской науки стало открытие в 1851 году в Иркутске Сибирского (впоследствии Восточно-Сибирского) отдела Русского географического общества (ВСОРГО) – первого научного учреждения в Восточной Сибири. Сибирская администрация пыталась превратить его в отделение канцелярии генерал-губернатора по "ученой части", но участие в работе общества передовой интеллигенции и политических ссыльных привело к тому, что оно стало выходить из-под казенной опеки. Одним из первых руководителей ВСОРГО был директор Иркутской гимназии С.С.Щукин. На протяжении 50 лет он изучал сибирскую природу, собирал богатый травник, постоянно вел метеорологические наблюдения. С.С.Щукин опубликовал таблицы своих метеорологических наблюдений и ряд работ по изучению природы Восточной Сибири. Он считался одним из глубоких знатоков сибирской фауны, флоры, минералогии и зоологии.

В научном обществе существовали секции математической географии, физической географии и статистики. Отделом также велись исследования по истории, археологии, языкознанию, сельскому хозяйству и другим отраслям знаний.

Крупный вклад в изучение истории и этнографии Сибири внес известный русский историк, этнограф, публицист А.П.Щапов, сосланный в Иркутск в 1864 году. Находясь в Иркутске, Щапов изучал историю, хозяйство и быт населения Восточной Сибири, работал во ВСОРГО, участвовал в научной экспедиции по изучению Туруханского края. Щапову принадлежат ценные труды по истории и этнографии Сибири: "Сибирское общество до Сперанского", "Историко-географические и этнографические заметки о сибирском населении", "Бурятская улусно-родовая община" и др. А.П.Щапов скончался в 1876 году в Иркутске, на могиле поставлен памятник на средства ВСОРГО, на котором надпись: "Родина - писателю".

В 60-х годах весьма важное значение в деятельности Отдела приобретает изучение недр Восточной Сибири, начало которому положили А.Л.Чекановский и И.Д.Черский. В Иркутске постепенно создается школа восточносибирских геологов, в которую вошли известные ученые И.А.Лопатин, П.А.Кропоткин, В.А.Обручев и др.

Александр Лаврентьевич Чекановский Иван Дементьевич Черский
А.В.Потанина Григорий Николаевич Потанин

В 70-80-х годах в состав ВСОРГО влились новые работники из политических ссыльных и представителей сибирской интеллигенции. Отдел расширает свои научные исследования, организует новые экспедиции с целью изучения сельского хозяйства Минусинского края, витимских золотоносных площадей, острова Ольхон, отдельных районов Енисея. Особенно большое внимание уделялось изучению Бурятии, в области бурятоведения работали А.П.Щапов, Д.А.Клеменц, А.В. и Г.Н. Потанины. Членами ВСОРГО были исследователи: Доржи Банзаров, М.Хангалов, Г.Гомбоев, П.Баторов и др.

В первом научном учреждении Восточной Сибири выросли известные ученые: зоолог И.С.Поляков, геолог И.Д.Черский, археолог Н.И.Витимский.

Деятельность ВСОРГО внесла большой вклад в дело изучения географии, природы и природных богатств, истории, хозяйства и быта населения Восточной Сибири.

В 20-х годах ХХ столетия научно-исследовательская работа сосредотачивалась помимо ВСОРГО в Иркутском государственном университете, открывшемся в 1918 году, Геологическом комитете и метеорологической обсерватории. При университете возникли первые научно-исследовательские институты: биолого-географический и анатомический. Первым директором биолого-географического НИИ при ИГУ был профессор М.М.Кожов, возглавлявший его в течение 30 лет.

Михаил Михайлович Кожов

Зарождение академической науки в Иркутске связано с изучением Байкала. В 1919 г. в с.Большие Коты была организована Байкальская биологическая станция АН СССР, переданная впоследствии Иркутскому университету. В 1928 году в с.Лиственничном открылась Байкальская лимнологическая станция, на базе которой в 1961 году создан Лимнологический институт СО АН СССР. Для изучения природных богатств сибирского края организовывались комплексные научные экспедиции, во главе которых стояли такие видные ученые, как Ф.Ю.Левинсон-Лессинг, А.А.Григорьев, В.Н.Сукачев, А.Е.Ферсман.

В 1949 году в Иркутске создается Восточно-Сибирский филиал АН СССР, который в 1957 г. после создания Сибирского отделения АН СССР вошел в его состав. В 1988 году филиал и иркутское объединение научных институтов получили статус Иркутского научного центра (ИНЦ) СО АН СССР.

 Иркутский Академгородок Определение изотопного состава свинца и урана в породах и минералах (Институт земной коры) Большой внезатменный солнечный коронограф в Саянах (Институт солнечно-земной физики)

В состав ИНЦ в настоящее время входят 9 научно-исследовательских институтов СО РАН, Байкальский музей, Иркутский филиал Института лазерной физики СО РАН, конструкторско-технологический институт электролучевых технологий ИНЦ СО РАН, отдел региональных  экономических и социальных проблем при Президиуме ИНЦ СО РАН. Центр имеет развитую научно-исследовательскую базу, что обеспечивает комплексное изучение проблем в рамках наук о Земле, а также проведение многопрофильных фундаментальных и прикладных исследований в области энергетики, вычислительной математики, солнечно-земной физики, геохимии, географии, химии, физиологии и биохимии растений и др. отраслям знаний.

Старейшим академическим институтом Иркутска является институт земной коры, организованный в 1949 году по названием Институт геологии. В разные годы его возглавляли член-корр. АН СССР Н.А.Флоренсов, М.М.Одинцов, академик Н.А.Логачев. Институт является ведущим научным учреждением страны по проблемам континентального рифтогенеза, учеными разработана комплексная геолого-геофизическая модель развития Байкальской рифтовой зоны и сопредельных территорий, раскрывающих глубинное строение Восточной Сибири и Монголии. Институт - признанный центр по проблемам неотектоники, геоморфологии и сейсмогеологии. При институте работает Международный центр по изучению активной тектоники и природных катастроф.

В 1960 году на базе магнитно-метеорологической обсерватории, учрежденной в 1886 году, открывается институт солнечно-земной физики СО РАН. В институте исследуются природа и динамика солнечных магнитных полей, солнечные вспышки и другие образования на Солнце. Сеть обсерваторий, созданная институтом в Иркутской области, Бурятии и Красноярском крае, позволяет проводить комплексные исследования физических процессов и явлений в системе Солнце-Земля.

Исследование Байкала с помощью обитаемых подводных аппаратов "Пайсис".

В 1961 году Байкальская лимнологическая станция была реорганизована в Лимнологический институт СО РАН, его первым директором был академик Г.И.Галазий. В настоящее время институт является головной организацией Российской академии наук по проблемам озера Байкал. Ученые института ведут исследования состояния экосистемы озера Байкал в настоящем и прошлом, изучение эволюции эндемичной фауны и флоры озера в контексте геологических событий и др. В 1990 году на базе института создан Байкальский международный центр экологических исследований. На базе Байкальской экспозиции института в 1993 году создан уникальный Байкальский музей.

В 1987 году в Иркутске создается Восточно-Сибирский филиал Сибирского отделения РАМН. С целью комплексного решения региональных проблем и координации всех исследований, связанных с сохранением и укреплением здоровья населения Сибири. В настоящее время филиал объединяет около 10 научно-исследовательских институтов, среди которых НИИ травматологии и ортопедии, научно-исследовательский противочумный институт Сибири и Дальнего Востока, институт эпидемиологии.

Значителен вклад в развитие науки в Сибири ученых вузов. Достойное место среди научных учреждений города занимают НИИ прикладной физики и НИИ биологии при Иркутском государственном университете. В настоящее время НИИ биологии, возглавляемый профессором О.М.Кожовой - продолжателем ученой династии Кожовых, проводит исследования по изучению озера Байкал и в области экспериментальной и прикладной микробиологии. Крупные научные достижения НИИ прикладной физики в области элементарных частиц, нейтринной астрофизики имеют большое влияние на развитие отдельных разделов физики.

 
            .НОЦ Байкал
Проект ИГУ
Этот сайт разработан ЦНИТ ИГУ при поддержке Научно-образовательного центра "Байкал". Большинство представленных на сайте научно-популярных статей подготовлены сотрудниками ИГУ.
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru