Essay

Irktsk region

The Irkutsk region is located in the south of Eastern Siberia, in Pribaikalye, in a pool of upper current of the Angara, Lena, Lower Tunguska rivers. The region has 767,9 thousand square meters (4,6 % of all Russian territory). The region includes 33 areas (raions) and 22 cities.

Map of Irkutsk region

The Irkutsk region is larger than any Western European state. Its territory could place Italy, Denmark, Belgium, Great Britain, Portugal and Holland combined.

The region borders on all subjects of the federation, included in structure of the Eastern-Siberian economic region: in the west - the Krasnoyarsk region, in the east - the Chita region, in the southeast and south - Republic of Buryatiya, in the southwest - Tyva Republic. In the northeast the border goes along Republic Sakha (Yakutia), which is included into structure of the Far Eastern economic region. The total extent of borders exceeds 7240 km, including on lake Baikal - 520 km.

Baikal. Photo A.Freydberg

The significant stocks of gold and hydrocarbon raw material, rare metals, 47 kinds of precious and ornamental stones, iron, manganese, titan, mineral-building materials are concentrated on the regional territory. About 76 % of the territory is covered with wood; the stocks of wood make more than 11 % of all stocks of Russia. The Irkutsk region is the largest wood raw materials base of the country - second-largest after the Krasnoyarsk region.

In 1997 the Irkutsk region marked its 60th anniversary.

 
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru

Иркутск

Иркутская область

Иркутская область расположена на юге Восточной Сибири, в Прибайкалье, в бассейне верхнего течения рек Ангара, Лена, Нижняя Тунгуска и занимает площадь 767,9 тыс. кв. м. (4,6% всей территории России). В состав области входят 33 района и 22 города.

Иркутская область

Иркутская область больше любого западноевропейского государства, на ее территории смогли бы разместиться Италия, Дания, Бельгия, Великобритания, Португалия и Голландия вместе взятые.

Область граничит со всеми субъектами федерации, входящими в состав Восточно-Сибирского экономического района: на западе - с Красноярским краем, на востоке - с Читинской областью, на юго-востокеи юге - с Республикой Бурятией, на юго-западе - с Республикой Тыва. На северо-востоке граница проходит с Республикой Саха (Якутией), которая входит в состав Дальневосточного экономического района. Общая протяженность границ превышает 7240 км, в том числе по оз.Байкал - 520 км.

Байкал. Фото из альбома А.Фрейдберга "Это - Байкал"

На территории области сосредоточены значительные запасы золота и углеводородного сырья, редких металлов, 47 видов драгоценных и поделочных камней, железа, марганца, титана, минерально-строительных материалов. Около 76% территории покрыто лесом; запасы древесины составляют более 11% всех запасов России. Иркутская область является крупнейшей лесосырьевой базой страны - второй по величине после Красноярского края.

В 1997 году Иркутская область отметила свое 60-летие.

 
            .НОЦ Байкал
Проект ИГУ
Этот сайт разработан ЦНИТ ИГУ при поддержке Научно-образовательного центра "Байкал". Большинство представленных на сайте научно-популярных статей подготовлены сотрудниками ИГУ.
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru