Manuscripts

Kozulya

KOZULYA. – A handwritten magazine of Irkutsk Spiritual Seminary students. – Irkutsk, 1856. Issues 1-3.

A handwritten magazine “Kozulya” is one of the most interesting pages in children literary arts of XIX century Siberia. 3 magazine issues were made by junior classes Seminary pupils with the help of a teacher of history Mikhail Vasilyevich Zagoskin (1830-1904). Later Zagoskin became a famous Siberian writer, journalist and a public activist.

All 3 issues are small notebooks in blue covers. Considering the contents of enclosed materials, these notebooks were written in May-June 1856. Each issue has an epigraph – “Kozulya is walking… it will butt, butt, butt…!”. That meant biting insides.

Only the initials (D.M, A.D.K. and etc.) announced the authors of poems, stories and other works, used in the magazine. There were only three full names there – Zagoskin himself, who published a small story “Lenochka” in the first two issues; Grigoryi and Dmitrii Gamburzevs, who were supposedly brothers, Seminary students.

Page of the manuscript

Besides literary works (poems, stories, fables), each issue included chapters “Critics”, “Scientific articles”, “Fashions” and etc. It was an imitation of the “thick” (popular) magazines of that time.

The third issue of “Kozulya” turned out to be last one for unknown reasons. The editorship bid farewell to the readers by writing a swan song with the words “ Whatever can happen, be kind, love all beautiful in nature, life and poetry, your motherland. And serve it till your last breath!”

For many years this magazine was considered to be totally lost. Bibliological literature looked at this magazine as a satirical adult magazine. And only in 1973 ISU Scientific Library received 3 issues of the magazine from Paris. They were a gift from A.A.Gering, a descendant of Irkutsk people who emigrated from Russia. The handwritten Seminar students notebooks came back after more than a hundred years of travelling around the Globe. It is still unknown how many magazine copies were made. Most probably there was only a singular copy, which is presently kept in ISU Scientific Library.

 
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru

Иркутск в рукописях

"Козуля"

КОЗУЛЯ. - Рукописный журнал учеников Иркутской духовной семинарии.- Иркутск, 1856. Вып. 1-3.

Рукописный журнал "Козуля" - одна из интересных страниц в истории детского литературного творчества в Сибири XIX в. Три выпуска журнала были подготовлены учащимися младших класов Духовной семинарии при помощи учителя истории Михаила Васильевича Загоскина (1830-1904) - в будущем известного сибирского писателя, журналиста и общественного деятеля.

Все три выпуска - небольшие тетрадки в голубых обложках - датированы 1856 годом, судя по контексту помещенных в них материалов, написаны в мае - июне. Каждому выпуску предпослан эпиграф: "Козуля идет... забодет, забодет, забодет...!", что предполагало, по-видимому, весьма острое содержание.

Авторы рассказов, стихов и прочих произведений, включенных в журнал, чаще всего обозначены лишь инициалами (Д.М., А.Д.К. и др.), и только три имени приведены полностью: самого М.В.Загоскина, поместившего в первых двух выпусках небольшой рассказ "Леночка", а также Григория и Дмитрия Гамбурцевых, скорей всего братьев, учеников семинарии.

Страница из первого номера журнала с заметкой Дмитрия Гамбурцева

Кроме литературных произведений (стихов, рассказов, басен) каждый выпуск включал разделы "Критика", "Ученые статьи", "Моды" и т.п., во всем подражая "толстым " журналам того времени.

Третий выпуск "Козули" в силу неизвестных нам причин оказался последним. Редакция прощается со своими читателями "Лебединной песнью "Козули", заканчивающейся словами: "Что бы ни было, будь добр, люби все прекрасное в природе, в жизни и в поэзии, больше [люби] родину свою, и благу ее будь готов служить честно до последнего вздоха!"

Долгие годы журнал считался безвозвратно утраченным, а в книговедческой литературе бытовало мнение о "Козуле", как об остросатирическм журнале для взрослых. И только в 1973 г. Научная библиотека ИГУ получила три номера журнала из Парижа, в дар от А.А.Геринга - потомка иркутян, когда-то эмигрировавших из России. Так рукописные тетрадки иркутских семинаристов вернулись на родину после более чем 100-летнего путешествия по свету. Нам до сих пор неизвестно, каким тиражом выпускался журнал, возможно, он существовал в единственном списке, который и хранится ныне в Научной библиотеке ИГУ.

 
            .НОЦ Байкал
Проект ИГУ
Этот сайт разработан ЦНИТ ИГУ при поддержке Научно-образовательного центра "Байкал". Большинство представленных на сайте научно-популярных статей подготовлены сотрудниками ИГУ.
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru