Olkhon Island

It is important to know

Some peculiar features should be taken into consideration while organizing hikes and automobile trips around Olkhon Island. It is necessary to take with you a gas burner for cooking because in steppe areas and on the shore there are problems with firewood. While travelling in the northern part of Olkhon, on the eastern shore and far inland, it is better to stock up on drinking water beforehand. It is difficult to come down to the lake for water because of steep shores, and it is impossible to get water far inland of Olkhon Island because there are no rivers there.

There are no dangerous predators on Olkhon Island. But on the eastern shore there are asps. There are almost no mosquitoes and gnat, as well as no ticks.
In summer, particularly in June and late August, it may be either very hot or rather cold during a day. Therefore, it is desirable to have different types of clothing – from bikini and panama to warm jacket and a woolly hat. It is also necessary to take a windcheater with a hood.
There is a cellular network on the island, sometimes not very good (such providers as MTS, Megaphone, and BaikalWestCom).

Finally, it is very important to treat the unique nature of Olkhon Island carefully. It takes a lot of years to heal wounds inflicted by a man. It is forbidden to cut, break and damage trees and bushes, pick flowers, fish with poach fishing gear, leave litter and inscriptions on rocks, and make a campfire at a nonspecial place (at least it is possible to make a campfire on stones of the shore far away from trees and grass). It is desirable to walk on the roads, paths and trails.

 
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru

Ольхон

Что стоит знать

При организации пеших походов и автомобильных путешествий по Ольхону следует учитывать некоторые особенности. В степных районах и на берегу будут проблемы с дровами, необходимо взять с собой газовую горелку для приготовления пищи. Отправляясь в северную часть, на восточное побережье или вглубь острова лучше заранее запастись водой. Из-за скалистых обрывистых берегов спуститься к озеру сложно, а в глубине Ольхона из-за отсутствия рек пополнить запасы воды просто негде. 

На Ольхоне нет опасных хищников, но на восточном берегу водятся змеи - огневки и гадюки. Практически нет комаров и мошки, совсем нет клещей.  

Что касается одежды. Летом, особенно в июне и второй половине августа, даже в течение одного дня может быть как очень жарко, так и достаточно холодно. Поэтому одежда нужна разная, от купальника и панамы до теплой куртки и вязаной шапочки. Также необходимо что-нибудь ветронепродуваемое с капюшоном.

На острове есть сотовая связь, временами не очень качественная (МТС, «Мегафон» и «БайкалВестКом»).

И последнее, но самое главное. Очень важно бережно относиться к уникальной природе Ольхона, на залечивание ран, нанесенных человеком, уходят многие годы. Нельзя рубить, ломать и наносить какой-либо вред деревьям и кустарникам, рвать цветы, разжигать костры там, где нет кострища (в крайнем случае, на камешках берега, вдали от деревьев и трав), ловить рыбу браконьерскими способами, оставлять мусор и надписи на скалах. По возможности старайтесь перемещаться по острову только по дорогам и тропам.

 
            .НОЦ Байкал
Проект ИГУ
Этот сайт разработан ЦНИТ ИГУ при поддержке Научно-образовательного центра "Байкал". Большинство представленных на сайте научно-популярных статей подготовлены сотрудниками ИГУ.
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru